ALA Announces List Of 2005 Award Winners

The American Library Association announced, Monday, the list of literary award winners for 2005.

Among the awards announced were the John Newbery and Randolph Caldecott medals and the Coretta Scott King Award.

The winner of the John Newbery Medal was Cynthia Kadohata for “Kira-Kira.” The winner of the Randolph Caldecott Medal was Kevin Henkes for his work “Kitten’s First Full Moon.” The Coretta Scott King Award winners were Toni Morrison for “Remember: The Journey to School Integration,” and Kadir Nelson, for “Ellington Was Not a Street.”

Additional awards as well as the Newbery and Caldecott Honor Books are listed at the ALA website.